Async code

Topics: General
Oct 1, 2012 at 8:03 PM

One of the biggest pains of writing Asynchronous JS code is not having the "await" keyword and syntax sugar of .NET

I would love to get support of await for promises and functions taking a callback as last argument in TypeScript that would desugar in ".then(...)" or "callAsync(args, ...)". Functions using "await" would automatically morph into Promise(Of ...)-returning functions (to allow chaining).

I know this is not so easy, but that would be very nice actually.

Oct 1, 2012 at 8:41 PM

Thanks for a great suggestion! As a C# designer, I love the fact that you already consider working without "await" a pain! :-)

We did consider "await" for TypeScript (as you can imagine with Anders and I on the design team) and definitely note your feedback to add it. One thing that concerns us is that there is no good corresponding JavaScript idiom to compile to, so the resulting JavaScript would not be as beautiful and straightforward as what we generate for modules and classes. In fact if you look at the IL we generate for await in C# and VB, it is something no one would want to write on their own!

Arguably the job of a language is to write the ugly stuff for you. So far however we've avoided generating ugly stuff with TypeScript, and the approachability of the generated JavaScript is really valuable, e.g. for in-browser debugging.

A difficult trade-off! We are really looking forward to hearing folk's thoughts on "await".

Oct 1, 2012 at 8:53 PM

It has certainly become a pain since the WinRT framework require one call over two to be asynchronous ;-) Before, it was a similar pain, but occured so much less often we didn't notice.

On the JS side, I think premises introduced by the WinJS framework are nice and to the job properly. Adding the "rest function" as a last callback of a function is also needed to support the "old" Asynchronous paradigm.