porting Circuit library from dart to ts

Topics: General
Apr 7, 2014 at 8:01 PM
I'm new to ts. Trying to figure out whether I can port a library originally written for dart.
Please see https://github.com/tatumizer/circuit-dart

There's a number of difficulties in porting it, starting with syntax. Dart library makes use of annotations and user-defined operators. I tried to express the same idea in pure javascript, but had to use rather ugly workarounds, which defeated the whole purpose. I'm wondering whether ts provides more syntactic possibilities.

I would be happy to discuss details/motivations/etc if there's any interest among ts users.
Thank you,
Apr 7, 2014 at 9:17 PM
I don't know anything about Dart, but if you post examples of exactly what you want to convert, perhaps I can help shed some light. :)
Apr 7, 2014 at 10:48 PM
Please consider example.
The following program computes 1+2+3+4 (please see comments)

Future<int> add4(a, b, c, d) {
return new Circuit([ // list of functions (called "gates"), => is similar to -> in js, it's just a definition of simple function.
  (@out sum1) => sum1 << add(a, b),  // "add" is a function returning Future, which completes with a+b
  (@out sum2) => sum2 << add(c, d), 
  (sum1, sum2, @out result) => result << add(sum1, sum2)
main() {
add4(1, 2, 3, 4).then(print); // prints 10

Dart has user-defined operators, so you can define << to mean whatever you want. It's defined in such a way that sum1<<add(a,b) means something like
@out is an annotation. In dart. you can annotate anything, and through reflection, find out that function has, say, one parameter (sum1), which is annotated with token "@out"
Yeah, it might sound cryptic still. Maybe you can you browse through readme for 5 min, the idea is simple.
Apr 8, 2014 at 12:41 AM